CAGIS Virtual!

CAGIS Virtual

Bring STEM into your home with fun, weekly, hands-on, live sessions led by real experts and a CAGIS instructor!

Each session includes an introduction to the topic, a hands-on or virtual activity, and time for questions at the end. Sessions occur on most Saturdays from September to June at the following times:
Ages 7-12: 8 am Pacific • 9 am Mountain • 10 am Central • 11 am Eastern • 12 pm Atlantic
Ages 11-16: 10 am Pacific • 11 am Mountain • 12 pm Central • 1 pm Eastern • 2 pm Atlantic

There are 26-28 CAGIS Virtual sessions per year. Click here to view the Winter/Spring schedule!

CAGIS Virtual sessions are free for members. Membership costs $200 and lasts for a full year from the date of purchase. Non-members can join a session for $16 per session. Registration will be open to members before the general public. CAGIS Virtual members must log in before registering for events.

Three tween girls building a robot
Graphic of a rocket ship

Discover Upcoming CAGIS Virtual Events

Lab materials under a fumehood
CAGIS Virtual

Jelly Synthesis

Saturday, April 20, 2024

Have you heard of a hydrogel? It’s a special material that scientists and engineers are using to revolutionise medicine! Create your own gel with a biomedical engineering researcher.

See event details here

CAGIS works hard to create a safe online environment for participants.  Adult supervision is always required for youth attending CAGIS Virtual sessions.

Upcoming events are usually posted at least one month in advance.  Members will have access to event sign up links before the general public.  We expect to always have enough space for all sign ups.  However, in the event of a very popular event, spaces will go on a first-come-first-served basis with others added to a waiting list. Registration deadline is 1 hour prior to start of the event. The schedule is subject to change, pending changes in host availability.

Discover Past CAGIS Virtual Events

Welding
CAGIS Virtual

Welding Beams

Saturday, April 13, 2024

Did you know the world’s tallest buildings, strongest bridges, and even spacecrafts rely on welders? In this session, we will explore the fundamentals of welding as we construct sturdy cardboard beams and put their strength to the test!

See event details here
Eclipse
CAGIS Virtual

Build an Eclipse Projector

Saturday, April 6, 2024

A solar eclipse is right around the corner! In this session, we will design and build an eclipse projector—a device that you can use to safely watch the shadow of the eclipse.

See event details here

Want to join the Club and get hands-on with STEM?

FAQs

Simply choose what type of membership you want (Chapter, Virtual, or Combined) and purchase it through our website. All memberships last for one full year from the date of purchase. You can purchase your membership at any time of year and you will receive a full year of programming.

CAGIS plans a diversity of activities that focus on all areas of STEM including science, technology, trades, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Event topics have included Veterinary Science, Robotics, Firefighting, Coding, the Science of Ice Cream, and many more! No matter what the topic, all of our events include a hands-on activity and the opportunity to meet a real expert.

Yes, we offer both types of programming. Our Local Clubs (aka Chapters) organize monthly, in-person STEM events in a particular city. We have Chapter locations across Canada, so join the one nearest you. Our virtual program runs weekly, online STEM sessions that you can participate in from your home.